new Texas child support law

Behind on Texas Child Support Payments? Possible Trouble Renewing Your Texas Drivers License!

Texas HB 1846: Suspension or denial of issuance or renewal of a license for failure to pay child support

The court or Title IV-D agency may stay an order suspending a license conditioned on the individual’s compliance with:

  1. A reasonable repayment schedule that is incorporated in the order
  2. The requirements of a reissued and delivered subpoena
  3. The requirements of any court order pertaining to the possession of or access to a child

The court or Title IV-D agency may not stay an order unless the individual makes an immediate partial payment in an amount specified by the court or Title IV-D agency. The amount specified may not be less than $200.

A licensing authority that receives the information shall refuse to accept an application for issuance of a license to the obligor or renewal of an existing license of the obligor until the authority is notified by the child support agency that the obligor has:

  1. Paid all child support arrearages
  2. Made an immediate payment of not less than $200 toward child support arrearages owed and established with the agency a satisfactory repayment schedule for the remainder or is in compliance with a court order for payment of the arrearages
  3. Been granted an exemption as part of a court supervised plan to improve the obligor’s earnings and child support payment
  4. Successfully contested the denial of issuance or renewal of license

An order suspending a license rendered before the effective date of this Act is governed by the law in effect on the date the order was rendered.

Texas HB 1846 takes effect September 1, 2013

By Nacol Law Firm | Property and Asset Division
DETAIL